Smell the Roses

Image

Hey there interwebs.

It’s been a while since you last heard from me via blog. I figure it’s about time I pick up the proverbial pen again to say hello.

I could go into ridiculous detail about what has gone on in the last five months, but to be honest, I rarely have that kind of patience with my own writing. So I’ll catch you up with where I am now. 

First off, I’m happy. I feel like so many people in life spend the majority of their time working so they can be happy someday, but never actually take the time to BE happy when the opportunity presents itself. So I think it’s significant to say that right now, I’m happy. I’m fed, I’m clothed, I have a roof over my head and enough money to buy the things I really need, plus some. I have a job that challenges me in a good way on a daily basis, people I enjoy working with, and managers that are genuinely interested in how I can improve myself in my work environment. I’m currently working as a contracted employee, but that may be turning into a permanent position soon (second interview on the 5th, I’ll try to keep you updated!).

I’m in a relationship. Yes, like a going-on-three-months-and-still-doing-well relationship. We watch movies and eat out and go on walks by the water and feed ducks in the park and visit museums and act disgustingly adorable in public and we don’t care. Valentine’s Day should be decidedly more exciting than last year. 😉

God has been shaping me in new ways. I’m learning so much and it’s just…exciting! Earlier in the winter I had quite on ordeal learning to overcome fear, particularly when it came to my new job. I was so far outside of my comfort zone that all I wanted to do was run away and quit, and every day was a struggle to drag myself in the door at work and try to be better at what I was doing. But with patience and work and a lot of prayer, things got better, and I am a more well-balanced person because of it. The lesson learned was that no matter what the circumstances, God takes care of His children, and therefore we have nothing to fear. Things may not always happen the way you expect them too, but as long as it’s His plan, that’s all that matters.

 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jer. 29:11)

I’m developing a deeper desire to know God and know His Word, which of course has been an ongoing thing since the day He claimed me, but it’s made itself more apparent in recent weeks, and I’m very much encouraged by it.

Drama in my life is at an all-time low, which is always welcome. Some burdens I had been carrying for a while as a result of strained relationships have been lifted recently, for which I am very thankful. God is great as chasing away bitterness when you ask Him to.

And overall I’ve just been trying to live my life a little bit better. Get more sleep, drink more water, eat well, put a bit more effort into my appearance, manage my money, watch less TV, listen to more music, read more books, etc. If I only have one life to live, I may as well make it a good one, right?

Well, now I feel like I’ve been rambling and just wound up back where I started. I guess all I wanted to do was take a moment to step back and smell the roses, to comprehend the fact that right now, my life is a place full of possibility and opportunity, where nearly anything is possible and the future looks bright. I’m still young, but I know enough of life to realize that the way I feel now will not always be the norm, so I should appreciate it now for what it is. I am blessed.

That’s all really. But with any luck, you’ll be hearing from me again soon. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Smell the Roses

  1. Loved hearing about your life and heart, Kaity! Thanks so much for sharing all that is happening and that God is so beautifully doing in you! Blessings in Him…

  2. Good to hear, Kaity!! I’ve been feeling much the same lately – happy and content in a way I haven’t been in a long time. I, too, had a rough start to winter but, like you said, life is full of so many possibilities and the future is bright! Anyways, glad you are doing well and I’ll be praying for your interview!
    -Kathy

Leave a Reply

