Happy Day

So I had a thought this morning. Many of us have a lot more cause to be happy than we think we do. 

Take me for instance. For the sake of privacy, I won’t go into great detail, but I have a lot I could complain and choose to be depressed about right now. Generally, it’s easy to focus on the bad things we’re dealing with in life, because they’re more readily called to mind, and they give us cause to worry. But my thought this morning was this: What if we chose to celebrate the good things in life? And once I focused on that, all the negative things I had been thinking of didn’t seem important anymore, mostly because they were things that I could do nothing about, or things that could be gotten through with God’s help. What problems do we deal with in life that don’t fall in either one of those two categories?

 In my case this meant that, at least for today, I have no reason not to be happy and enjoy life. And that’s a nice feeling. 🙂

So that’s my inspirational nugget for today. In other news, I’ve made a resolution. Well…more like “really really want” than a resolution, but here it is. For reasons beyond my control, my hours have been cut back at work. So for the foreseeable future, I will only be working Tuesday through Friday, and Mondays I have off. I have decided that I will not be sad about this. Instead, I am making it my goal to write something every Monday. Doesn’t matter what it is, but in most cases you will probably be able to read it here once I’ve had my editing way with it. Writing in general used to be a fairly prolific hobby of mine that I very much enjoyed, and I haven’t done enough of it recently. I’ve chalked it up mostly to, well, life being busy and me not having enough free time. But, I’ve realized that that’s a bit of an excuse, and now that I have one entirely free day at my disposal every week, I should take advantage of it. Mondays are going to be my creative days — for writing and crocheting, most likely. (At the moment, I have a list of things I’d like to finish crocheting about a mile long.) Plus, there’s always something to be done around the house…gecko’s terrariums that need cleaning, errands that need to be run, dishes that need to be washed, random things left laying around that need to be got rid of…you get the idea.

In short, today is a good day, and I am determined to make it a productive one in spite of the gray weather. Grace and peace to you all. ❤

“The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” – Psalm 118:6

Leave a Reply

